Hey Guys, Good news and bad news. First the good news. I played fantastic in the first round of the Club Championship. I shot a 75 with only one birdie, so I was really doing well getting the ball up and in. I putted extremely well and my ball-striking was pretty good, definitely not where it needs to be, but it’s getting there. I struggled with my chips which cost me a few strokes, so I really need to work on that area much harder. I was very happy with the way I played and ended up being the Round 1 leader by 4 strokes.
Bad news…after the round Chuck and I went out to practice and we both hit off the first tee. The Head Pro came running down and told us we were both disqualified for playing on the same course between tournament rounds. Extremely disappointing. First, I just should have known that rule, so that’s disappointing from that standpoint, second, I had a very good chance of winning the Championship tomorrow and now I can’t do that. If I had gone out tomorrow and lost it that would be one thing, but not being able to even have a shot at it is what gets me. At least I learned this now during a small tournament like this and not later at a larger one. Looks like I need to go read the Rules of Golf.